Court rejects recusation in Kobanê Trial

Turkish court has rejected recusation at the hearing of the Kobanê Trial.

The 3rd hearing of the Kobanê trial against 108 people including former co-chairs of the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP), members of the central executive board (MYK) and executives has started in the Ankara 22nd High Criminal Court.

HDP co-chairs Pervin Buldan and Mithat Sancar as well as the party's deputies, administrators and bar association heads are attending the hearing, as well as representatives of the US and British Canadian Embassy, ​​EU Delegation to Turkey and Amnesty International.

HDP former Co-Chairs Figen Yüksekdağ and Selahattin Demirtaş, Amed Metropolitan Municipality former Co-Mayor Gültan Kışanak, former Co-Chair of the Democratic Regions Party (DBP) Emine Ayna, HDP Radio and Television Supreme Council (RTÜK) member Ali Ürküt, HDP Foreign Relations Commission member Nazmi Gür,  Kars Municipality former Co-Mayor Ayhan Bilgen, HDP former deputy Gülser Yıldırım, HDP former Central Executive Board (MYK) members Zeynep Ölbeci, Cihan Erdal, Can Memiş, Meryem Adıbelli attended the hearing from the prisons where they are held, and the Imralı Delegation Member Sırrı Süreyya Önder who is tried pending trial was connected via sound and video information system (SEGBİS) from Istanbul. Altan Tan and Gülfer Akkaya, who are tried without arrest, did not attend the hearing citing an excuse.

Former MP and Free Women's Movement (TJA) activist Ayla Akat Ata, former Democratic Regions Party (DBP) Co-Chair Sebahat Tuncel, HDP former spokesperson Günay Kubilay, former MPs Emine Beyza Üstün, İbrahim Binici, HDP new term MYK member Alp Altınörs, HDP former account keeper Zeki Çelik, HDP former MYK members Pervin Oduncu, Ayşe Yağcı, Bircan Yorulmaz, Berfin Özgül Köse, Bülent Parmaksiz, İsmail Şengül, Dilek Yağ and Sibel Akdeniz are present at the courtroom.

The court board announced that the recusation requested by lawyers and politicians was rejected.

The hearing continues with the reading of the documents in the file.