Ban on entry and exit involves four provinces in South Kurdistan

Entering and exit the cities of Sulaymaniyah, Halabja, Ranya and Germiyan in South Kurdistan has been banned on the grounds of the ongoing protests.

While the protests in South Kurdistan erupted to protest the increasing corruption and non-payment of wages, entry and exit are banned in 4 cities.

Dozens of people have been injured in the actions which have resulted in the death of 6 people so far.

It has been announced that a 24-hour ban on entry and exit has been imposed on Sulaymaniyah, Halabja, Germiyan and Ranya, the centers of the protests. According to the decision taken by the Sulaymaniyah High Security Council, the ban, which started at midnight on Wednesday, will continue until tonight at midnight.

The statement made by the Board is as follows: “In order to create a safe and peaceful environment, a 24-hour entry and exit ban has been decided involving the cities of Sulaymaniyah, Halabja, Ranya and Germiyan. The ban will be applied in all regions including cities."